About Us

About our Program

Wichita, Kansas was the setting of the organizational meeting of the Kansas Crime Stoppers Association on March 25, 1987.  Six people from various Crime Stoppers programs across Kansas were instrumental in spearheading the idea of the Kansas Crime Stoppers Association: Don Weide, Topeka; Rick Frevert, Emporia; Margaret Jones, Kansas City, Missouri; Mike McNown, Wichita; Stan Conkwright, Manhattan; and Tim Herrera, Fort Dodge.  In 1987 there were nineteen Crime Stoppers programs.  

Kansas Crime Stoppers Association is a nonprofit organization which consists of a volunteer board of directors and individual and program members. The purpose of KCSA is to promote and encourage Crime Stopper programs in Kansas by providing development and training to reduce criminal activity.

The state association does not issue reward monies. KCSA hosts an annual conference where training is provided for existing or new programs across the state. Training is also provided for Scholastic Crime Stoppers programs, which are programs operated within the middle and high schools.  

Mission Statement

Reaching Across Kansas to Stop Crime

Who is Involved

Matt Franklin      Chairman
Ken Temaat      President
Shannon Wittig      Vice President
Jackie Ashcraft      Secretary
Larry Crawford      Treasurer
Margaret Jones      Board Member
Elaine Cloyd      Board Member
Duane Nisly      Board Member
Jere Buehler      Board Member
Trevor Macy      Board Member 2022-2024
Daniel Rodriguez      Board Member 2022-2024
Don Weide      Past President 87-88
Richard Frevert      Past President 88-89, (Deceased)
Stan Conkwright      Past President 89-90
Margaret Jones      Past President 90-92
Kay Houser      Past President 92-93, (Deceased)
Garry Berges      Past President 93-95
Doug Anderson      Past President 95-96
Jere Buehler      Past President 96-98
Sheldon Stewart      Past President 98-99
Mike Pruisner      Past President 99-00
James Quinn      Past President 00-01
Elaine Cloyd      Past President 01-03
Breck Marion      Past President 03-04
Terry Symonds      Past President 04-06
Steve Lutz      Past President 06-08
Bruce Cochran      Past President 08-10
Duane Nisly      Past President 10-12
Michael Ford      Past President 12-14
Patrick Rapp      Past President 14-16
Michael Ford      Past President 16-17
Wendy Hummell      Past President 17-18
Bev Hill      Past President 18-19
Matt Franklin      Past President 19-21
Doug Anderson      LIfetime Member
Donna Bender      Lifetime Member
Garry Berges      Lifetime Member
Jere Buehler      Lifetime Member 2010
Elaine Cloyd      Lifetime Member
Bruce Cochran      Lifetime Member 2013
Michael Ford      Lifetime Member
Ann Hayden      Lifetime Member 2009
Margaret Jones      Lifetime Member
Steve Lutz      Lifetime Member
Breck Marion      Lifetime Member 2011
Duane Nisly      Lifetime Member 2014
Mike Pruisner      Lifetime Member
James Quinn      Lifetime Member
Sheldon Stewart      Lifetime Member
Terry Symonds      Lifetime Member
Sherril Unruh      Lifetime Member 2011
Stan Conkwright      Charter Member
Rick Frevert      Charter Member, (Deceased)
Tim Herrera      Charter Member
Kay Houser      Charter Member, (Deceased)
Margaret Jones      Charter Member
Mike McNown      Charter Member
Don Weide      Charter Member
Site Image

Crime Stoppers